Bach Medal

of the City of Leipzig

Every year during the Bach Festival, the Lord Mayor of the City of Leipzig awards the Bach Medal in recognition of efforts to promote the work of Johann Sebastian Bach.

In 2017, Reinhold Goebel was honoured as an outstanding soloist, conductor and scholar.

The medal jury consists of the artistic directors of the Bach Festival, the musical director of the Leipzig Gewandhaus, the artistic director of the Leipzig Opera and the headmaster of the University of Music & Theatre »Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy« Leipzig.



Up till now, the Bach Medal was awarded to

  • 2003 Gustav Leonhardt †
  • 2004 Helmuth Rilling
  • 2005 Sir John Eliot Gardiner
  • 2006 Ton Koopman
  • 2007 Nikolaus Harnoncourt †
  • 2008 Hermann Max
  • 2009 Frieder Bernius
  • 2010 Philippe Herreweghe
  • 2011 Herbert Blomstedt
  • 2012 Masaaki Suzuki
  • 2013 Peter Schreier
  • 2014 Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin
  • 2015 Peter Neumann
  • 2016 Peter Kooij
  • 2017 Reinhold Goebel

simple div

simple div